My Unexpected Week.

All planning for Christmas is well under way. I started the week stock making for a new store opening in Leeds this week. Its a great new shop called Fabrication which is in the old Confetti shop in the Light, right in the centre of Leeds. Dawn has done a fabulous job of cleaning it all up and about 50 local designer makers from around Yorkshire have been stocking it with a great variety of goods. It opened on Saturday and is well worth a look if your in town.

Image

On Wednesday morning I’d received the worst call! My Nana had just died that morning. The rest of the week seems to have fallen apart. It was a shock, she was supposed to be invincible! She was 84 and a very happy caring and beautiful person. All our family are very close and never more than now. She celebrated her 60th wedding anniversary to my Grandtom in February which seems like yesterday. It doesn’t seem real!

Image

So I finished the week designing my Nana’s service sheet for the funeral this Friday and my boys have drawn her pictures to go in her coffin.

I still worked, I just didn’t manage to deliver the amount of stock I’d have liked to Leeds, I had a stall at Shipley Alternative which was quiet but I had a good time chatting with friends to pass the time and I went to a friends house for a shopping evening which was successful. I also was lucky enough to have my Bob Bobbing Cushion featured in the November Country Living Magazine, so not all bad!

Image

This week I have lots of work to do, stocking up on Bob Bob Bobbing Cushions, Campervan cushions and doorstops. I must start making cinnamon stars and hearts too. I can then deliver them to where they need to go next week, after I’ve said my goodbye to Nana. x

About springlark

Welcome to my blog! Thank you for taking a look. I live in Leeds with my husband and 2 boys. I have a small studio at the end of the garden which I hide away in sewing all day long! I design and make gifts and accessories which I sell through shops and online.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

