Welcome to my blog!

I’m new to the blogging world! I’m intending this blog to be my way to document the highs and lows of running my small handmade textile business ‘Spring Lark”.

I have spent the last few weeks updating my website to include my new wedding collection! It has taken me far longer than I had intended it to, but then everything does!

Last week I found out the main shop I supplied to had decided to close, which was a big blow, I had had good steady orders from them for a while. 

On the plus side it has spurred me to update my website, approach some new shops and hopefully get more sales through my website – thats the plan! So fingers crossed over the next few months I can do just that.

I attended a course in Leeds yesterday run by Doug Richards from Dragons Den. It was brilliant! It was explaining the importance of SEO’s, ad words, ecommerce and social media. All stuff I struggle to understand. 

I need to refine my one line company introduction! I came up with

‘High quality stitched gifts and decorative accessories, personalised for your home and special occasions.”  

what do you think? Might need to work on it a bit more but its a starting point! 

There is a new shop opening in Bradford city centre by Handmade in Bradford called Fabric. It sounds great, its in the old Zavvi shop and is enormous! I delivered stock to them last week and am really hoping they are a big success. The big opening is this saturday for anyone who fancies a look. They are selling a variety of locally made products and have a gallery on the second floor along with regular workshops being run. I’m popping down on Saturday to see how it all looks. 

Thats all for now, will update soon. Melanie.Image

 

About springlark

Welcome to my blog! Thank you for taking a look. I live in Leeds with my husband and 2 boys. I have a small studio at the end of the garden which I hide away in sewing all day long! I design and make gifts and accessories which I sell through shops and online.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

